top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

SLICKED, SLIPPERY AND SLEEK! (3 PART SERIES, HERE’S PART 1)

Let me tell y’all about how I flourished in February, natural hair wise at least. I finally attempted a sleek style and it worked!!! I went from slicked back natural hair, to a high fashion high ponytail, to an iconic tail length braid and I was living. GET INTO IT.

Like most people, I have several different textures of lovely hair and it can sometimes be difficult. The top is definitely 4c, the sides are a solid 4b/4c mixture and in the back the last 2 inches are all 3c it’s always been this way. Growing up I honestly didn’t think that sleek styles were possible for people with hair like mine, but I have seen the light! Now I’m here to deliver all my type 4 sisters to the light as well.

I washed my hair with Camille Rose Sweet Ginger Shampoo, with I like, however it dries my hair out just a bit we can’t have brittle curls. So after that I went in with the Moroccan Pear Conditioning Custard which really hydrates, moisturizes and softens my hair, it felt soooo good after I rinsed it out.

Here comes the scary part, the slicking and sleeking while slippery.. I started at the back of my head with the 3C hair and worked my way up. For each section I applied Eden’s Coconute Shea Leave In Conditioner, Cream of Nature’s Argan Oil and Eco Style’s Castor Oil and Flaxseed Gel in that order. I brushed through each section with my Denman brush and put a black scrunchy on after adding each section to the ponytail.

When I got to the front of my head, I parted my hair on the side I liked best, and continued slicking until I was completely done. The only thing I added was the Murray’s Edgewax along the part and on my edges because type 4 edges in my experience are harder to lay and this wax seems to do the trick for me.

LOOK AT THAT 4C HAIR SHINING, POPPING, WAVING!

Black hair can do so many things, this is probably one of the coolest. I loved this style because my hair wasn’t flaky, frizzy or hard to deal with for the few days I had it in and it was nice to imagine what I’d look like with shorter hair.

No hair in the face can sometimes be a good thing and it was a nice change for me considering all I ever do is wear long, big hair styles. This was simple and fun, plus the curl definition in the poof was very nice. <3

bottom of page